Savvy business leaders are the driving force behind transformational sustainability strategies, linking business sustainability performance, financial performance, and regional quality of life.  Recognizing executives’ critical role in achieving these tremendous potential benefits, CEOs from leading private-sector companies throughout the Pittsburgh region have established the CEOs for Sustainability executive council. Their vision:

CEOs for Sustainability is exemplary executive leadership and collaboration to drive positive change in the region. By demonstrating responsibility and creativity in the use of precious resources (human, natural, energy, capital and materials), we ensure enduring economic and social prosperity for our businesses and for our regional community.

Improving Business Performance and Quality of Life in the Region

Through CEOs for Sustainability, CEOs of the region’s leading companies share best sustainable business practices and collaborate in growing the ranks of those around the region that reap the benefits of a triple bottom line — for people, planet, and profits. The group is working to increase the number of businesses that practice, measure, and publicly report their sustainable business performance. The CEOs recognize that prosperous businesses are the foundation of a successful, strong region.

To demonstrate their commitment and inspire other companies in the region, 100 percent of the CEOs for Sustainability companies have achieved the Southwestern Pennsylvania Sustainable Business Compact On Ramp. Through the On Ramp, businesses can assess their sustainability performance, commit to progress, and follow a roadmap to Compact achievement.

About the CEOs

Co-chaired by WindStax Energy Founder and CEO Ron Gdovic and Covestro LLC President Jerry MacCleary, CEOs for Sustainability is an outcomes-based leadership network.

Co-Chair Ron Gdovic

Founder and CEO

Co-Chair Jerry MacCleary

CEO and Chairman


CEOs for Sustainability is guided by the vision and sustainability leadership of participating executives.

CEOs for Sustainability Executive Council

Leroy Ball Jr.,
President and CEO

Jan Brimmeier,
Owner & President

Jeff Broadhurst,
President and CEO

Brian Brickhouse,
President–Electrical Sector, Americas


Carl Brockmeyer,
President & General Manager

Michael Cherock,
President and CEO

Lalit Chordia, Ph.D., Founder and CEO

Ned D. Eldridge,
President, CEO and Founder

Ron Gdovic,
Founder and CEO

Steve Guy,
President and CEO

Chuck Hammel,

Diane Holder,
President and CEO

Colin Huwyler,

Laura Shapira Karet,
President and CEO

Jana Lake,

David F. Landis,
Vice President

Kurt Lesker IV,
President and CEO

Jerry MacCleary,
CEO and Chairman

Matt Newton,

Robert Nutting,
CEO and Principal Owner

Masahiro “Mas” Ogiso,
President and CEO

Antonis Papadourakis, Ph.D.,
President and CEO

Ciannie Rodriguez,
Store Manager,
Greater Pittsburgh Area

Kara Roggenkamp,
Principal and CEO

Ryan S. Ruskin,
President and CEO

Murray Rust,

Marty Ryan,
President and CEO

Jack Scalo,
President and CEO

Andrew AJ Schwartz,
Managing Principal

Venkee Sharma,

Rob Smith,

Wendy P. Staso
Owner, President and CEO

Craig E. Stevenson,

Scott E. Tobe, CAP
Principal & CEO

Charles Toran,

Raymond Yeager,
President and CEO


Research Liaison:
Catherine Augustine,
Director, RAND Pittsburgh Office

Research Liaison:
Debbie DeLong, PhD,
Associate Professor of Marketing,  Chatham University